w a l l s

by loveeemich

eternal-sunshine-ending

The problem with getting close to someone – breaking down their walls and/or letting them break down yours – gives them the ability to destroy you in so many ways possible.

 

And that’s absolutely terrifying.

 

How do you know if someone is worth letting in? How do you know if you can actually trust them with the most delicate parts of your soul?

 

You will never know. And that is also terrifying.

 

That’s where risk comes in. You either jump into whatever it is with caution or completely reckless.

 

You see, that’s where I have a problem. Never have I not jumped into something recklessly because I’m more of an emotional person than logical, and that fucks me over every time. I never learn sometimes – I feel too much and I never think enough. But I over-think while I let my emotions run wild and that’s never a good thing.

 

So, where was I?

 

Oh, yeah. Letting people break down your walls and vice versa.

 

There’s never a clear answer to whether or not someone is worth giving the power to destroy you. That’s where you step in and you try to think logically on whether or not this person is capable of keeping these fragile parts of your soul in their hands without crushing it.

 

But, let me tell you something.

 

These type of things are never easy, I get that. But how are we going to learn anything if we keep ourselves shielded from letting people in? Each individual that we let in can teach us something new about the world. They can even help you learn something new about yourself that you never knew existed. Trust me on that. If they destroy you, then you can take that experience and make yourself into a better person from that. If you need to take a step back and be reckless to fix yourself, then do it. You will learn so much more by taking risks than keeping yourself safe behind your four walls.

 

Let yourself get hurt. Let that person in and give them that power to destroy you. Only then will you learn about these different types of people, how they work, who to avoid, and who to let in. It will eventually get to a point where you’ll meet someone one day that will change your mind on everything you thought you knew about protecting yourself and you’ll say,

 

“Fuck it.”

 

And your whole life will change.

